Bradford County Auto Accident Lawyer
Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state. This means that when you are in a Bradford auto accident, you can file a claim to recover benefits soon after the crash. Many people assume that because they can file this claim, the process after a collision is easy. It is not. The benefits provided under no-fault laws are limited and they may not even be enough to fully cover the cost of your injuries. Our Bradford County auto accident lawyer can advise you of your options for claiming the full compensation you rightfully deserve.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Benefits in Florida
The no-fault auto insurance laws of the state require all motorists to purchase a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. PIP benefits will fully cover all of your medical expenses and because you can receive these benefits quite quickly, you can receive compensation right away. You also do not have to prove that another driver was at fault and it does not matter if you contributed to the accident.
The drawback of PIP benefits is that most people do not purchase more than the minimum amount required by law. That minimum amount is not usually enough to fully cover the cost of serious injuries. Fortunately, you do have other options to claim additional compensation after an accident.
Filing a Lawsuit Against the Negligent Driver
If you have exhausted your PIP benefits and you meet the serious injury threshold outlined in state law, you can file a claim against the negligent driver. You do this by filing a claim with the negligent driver’s insurance company. When filing these civil claims, you must prove that another person was negligent and caused an accident that resulted in your injuries. Filing a personal injury claim has many benefits over PIP coverage. For example, you can claim certain damages such as pain and suffering, which are not available with PIP coverage.
When filing an auto accident claim directly with the other driver’s insurance company, it does matter whether you contributed to the accident. If it is found that you are partly at fault, it will reduce the total amount of damages you ultimately receive.
Florida is a pure comparative negligence state. This means that even if you were 99 percent at fault for the crash, you can still claim damages. Any compensation you receive will be reduced by your same percentage of fault. For example, if you were speeding but another driver was impaired, you may be assigned 20 percent of fault. Any damages you are awarded then will be reduced by the same 20 percent.
Call Our Auto Accident Lawyer in Bradford County for a Free Consultation
Our Bradford County auto accident lawyer at Douglas & Douglas knows how traumatic the aftermath of a car crash is. It is why we are dedicated to helping victims claim the full and fair compensation they deserve afterwards. If you have been hurt, call us today at 386-752-5511 to schedule a free injury consultation and to learn more.