Golf Cart Accidents In Florida
Almost every day of the year in Florida, it is sunny enough for at least part of the day to want to head to the golf course, but in the summer months, it is too hot for the walk from one hole on the golf course to the next to be enjoyable, hence the popularity of golf carts. The rules governing the operation of golf carts occupy a legal gray area; a golf cart is somewhere between a toy and a motor vehicle. When it comes to the injuries that one can sustain in a golf cart accident, a golf cart is just as dangerous as the kinds of vehicles that get much more oversight from the DMV. If you get injured in a golf cart accident, you have the same legal rights as you would if you had been injured while riding in a car or on a bicycle, or even while walking. To find out more, contact a Jacksonville car accident lawyer.
Florida Golf Cart Laws
Golf carts have a maximum speed of 20 miles per hour. From a legal standpoint, the main difference between a car and a golf cart is that you do not need a driver’s license to drive a golf cart. Any person who is at least 14 years old can drive one. The only places where it is legal to drive golf carts are golf courses and roads where the speed limit is below 30 miles per hour; these roads may be on public or private property.
Golf cart owners must register their golf carts with the DMV; hence, golf carts have license plates. It is possible to modify a golf cart to increase its maximum speed. If you modify a golf cart so that its maximum speed is 25 miles per hour, you must register it as a low-speed vehicle (LSV). Only licensed drivers may drive LSVs, including converted golf carts.
What to Do If You Get Injured in a Golf Cart Accident
If you get injured in a golf cart accident, you can recover damages for your accident-related medical expenses through an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit. People are legally responsible for the damage caused by their property, so you can file a claim with the insurance company of the owner of the golf cart, even if the owner was not the one driving at the time of the accident. If the golf cart collided with another vehicle, and the driver of the other vehicle was at fault for the accident, you can file a claim against that driver’s insurance policy. If your injuries are severe and their treatment is costly, you should hire a personal injury lawyer to help you with the insurance claims and possible lawsuits.
Contact Douglas & Douglas About Golf Cart Accident Cases
A North Florida personal injury lawyer can help you get a fair insurance settlement or file a personal injury lawsuit if you were injured in a collision involving a golf cart or low-speed vehicle. Contact Douglas & Douglas in Jacksonville, Florida for a free consultation.